Image of a house linking to home page
Image of a shopping basket linking to online craft beer shop

Vegan Craft Beer

All the Vegan craft beer we stock is clearly labelled as 'Vegan' on the bottle/can. We know some breweries say their beer is Vegan but if they haven't put this information on the bottles/cans we do not sell it as suitable for Vegans.

A can of vegan craft beer with VG displayed on the label

FININGS

Beer is often made from barley malt, water, hops and yeast and is suitable for Vegans but some brewers add finings to clear the beer of sediment suspended in the brew to make it clear. Isinglass is the most common fining used to make beer clear and is produced from the swim bladders of fish, usually Sturgeon. As this is an animal product the beer would not be suitable for Vegans to drink. However, the trend for craft beers is to leave the brew unfiltered which results in a hazy or even murky beer, but as no finings are added this makes them suitable for Vegans.

HONEY

Honey is added to some craft beers for flavouring and to sweeten the brew. Though generally considered suitable for Vegetarians, honey is an animal product, so it is not suitable for Vegans.

LACTOSE

Some beers, particularly milk stouts, dessert beers and milkshake IPAs, contain lactose, a sugar derived from milk which is not suitable for Vegans.
Map pin icon
Yorkshire Craft Beers
Queens Mill
Aire Street
Castleford
West Yorkshire
WF10 1JL
Clock face icon
Monday 10am - 4pm
Tuesday 10am - 4pm
Wednesday 10am - 4pm
Thursday 10am - 7pm
Friday 10am - 8pm
Saturday 10am - 8pm
Sunday 12pm - 4pm
Speech bubble icon
07894 913868

Facebook logo Instagram logo Twitter logo Untappd logo
Scroll to top of page